a new champion

 

Congratulations to Mark Cuban and the whole Dallas Mavericks organization for winning the 2011 NBA championship. I am happy to see them erase the demons of 06, I will never forget that series they had it locked down up 2-0 and 13 points in 4th quarter of game 3 with another 2 games to go at home and they just collapsed. I know this team is different but for Dirk, Jet Terry and mark Cuban I’m sure it was still something that haunts them going into this series. Honestly I thought Miami could have swept but the determination Dirk showed was absolutely championship caliber he was the man this series. I love j Kidd and I’m happy that this veteran laden team got a chance to raise the Larry O’brien trophy.

 

That being said I hate the fact that the media and everyone will have to talk about this for the next year and going forward. Lebron went to Miami to make this happen, I for one did not believe at beginning of season that they would win this year I thought LA would 3peat and send ZEN Budda of into the sunset with a 12 total rings. Championships are never guaranteed and the majority of the time the best teams in the regular season do not win in the end(see Bulls) but the utter failure of Lebron James and the Miami Heat is definitely captivating enough to discuss. After dispatching the Celtics and Bulls in 5 games they were favorite to beat Dallas Handily but that didn’t happen. What we saw was the epic collapse of an NBA superstar, Lebron at time this series made me feel like he was throwing games. I can not recall him being this passive. Lets get something straight I am by no means a Miami fan I do like certain players more than others and while the “discussion” made me want to throw up, I enjoy Lebron’s Game. He is tenacious and unrelenting and that just never happened this series. I saw too much deffering this series, yes Wade was great(another player I’m a huge fan of) and I’m not talking about that. How many shots did Udonis Haslem and Mario Chalmers take in the 2nd half yesterday, don’t get me wrong they are nice players but by no means are they LEBRON and WADE hell even Bosh was good last night, the big three needed to be more assertive last night. Dirk and terry and their veteran team showed us how much they wanted it more and took it to the Heat on their home court.

 

As I watched the game I couldn’t help thinking about the Basketball god’s last night wanting the same thing as the rest of the country.(sans Miami-Lebron fans) Every crucial Dallas 3 went in and Miami was absolutely horrific from charity stripe, but the 4q showed me it never mattered, when in crunch time Dirk came alive and Lebron and Wade started making mental mistakes and it wasn’t even close. I told a buddy of mine after game 1, I think Miami should win but they are absolutely horrible in late game situations and if they don’t find a way to be more efficient late in the game Dallas is gonna steal some wins and be in series till end. I was right and Dallas stole game 2 and 4 and played better in 5 and 6 they are real champs make no mistake about it.

 

Lebron needs to take his foot out of his mouth as much as I love his game he is a fool when it comes to the media. His quote about all the hatter life still sucking the next day maybe right but its not what a Uber-star should be saying, I don’t hear that from Wade or Bosh. I know he is frustrated but come on dude!!!!!!! What are you thinking, What he should be thinking is I know we are gonna win, and I think this year was a great learning experience. We will continue to get used to each other and continue to get better. Like I said I thought it would take a  year but know I don’t know, Lakers will be back Bulls/Thunder another year to grow Celtics will have 1 more run, and the Mavericks will have everyone back + possibly Caron Butler. Nothing is guaranteed and if there is a season next year Miami is not the clear favorite.

 

 

On a side note I read today that Cuban might not buy Mavs rings WTF!!!!!!!!!!! Are you kidding me It’s all about the rings son!! How the fuck do you explain that are you gonna give every member of your team a solid gold replica Larry O’Brien trophy? Well even if you do that don’t cut it, fast forward 10 years from now some dude from the bench is sitting in a bar talking about his role in the 2011 NBA championship, Some Dallas chick is sitting there like what a story dude, ya I’m gonna come back to your place to check out your replica trophy……….OK I don’t think so! If that same dude had the ring on his finger to prove it he is getting head in bathroom after 1st drink, come on Mark you’re a smart dude you have billions of dollars and are a great owner, fuck the theatrics buy your boys some rings!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

P.S please buy the NY METS

Leave a Reply

